Into The Unknown

All of this may sound crazy to you. I have sold my house, quit an excellent job and moved to a city where I do not have a job. All because Jenny and Aaron “felt” it was the right thing to do. It certainly sounded crazy to me! Those of you that know me, know that I am very methodical and am not subject to whimsical decisions. This entire adventure has made me question my sanity. I told God that I feel like I am losing my mind and that I feel like everyone around me thinks that I am crazy. Additionally, I told God that if I knew that Jeremiah 29:11 applied to this adventure I would do my best to embrace it and trust him for a job, home and support. I did not share that prayer with anyone, I wanted God to show me, without people being able to orchestrate it. Three weeks later, I received the following email from a friend at work:

Aaron,

I wanted to follow up on our conversation from last week and let you know
that I’ve been thinking a lot about your decision and praying for you and
your family as you get ready to take the steps of faith that God has been
leading you to.  I wanted to send you a word of encouragement and let you
know how much I appreciate the great example of faith that you are
demonstrating.  I can’t wait to hear the story of how God uses you!

This morning, in another of the “Follow” sermon series, Andy Stanley was
talking about when making a decision to follow Him will be difficult,
counter cultural and maybe even appear “crazy”, but that doing so will be a
defining moment in your life.  He also referenced the following verse,
“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper
you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”  Jer 29:11
(NIV).  I am confident that the Lord has plans for you and your family.

Thank you for making the decision to follow Him!

This email spoke word for word to my prayer about feeling crazy and needing to know that Jeremiah 29:11 applied. There have been many of these very encouraging events. I am thankful for the support and love that has been shown to me and our family. I am confident that we are doing the right thing (even though I still think it is crazy) and am looking forward to what the next chapter will bring. I certainly hope that it brings a job… Stay tuned!
Leave a Reply

