Alive

In the past 3 months I can truly say that I have consistently felt more alive than ever before. I think back on how scripted my life was and how much I relied on myself and I have to shake my head. You could, quite literally, set your watch by my daily activities. I am not saying that consistency is bad, I am simply saying that for me it was stifling. Although I could not, or would not, see it at the time it was slowly choking my passion for living. I believe the human heart is designed for adventure. Lets be clear, I did not say that we like adventure, only that something deep inside of us longs for it and we thrive in having it.

I am also not saying that I have never felt alive before this particular adventure.  I would feel alive on occasions, such as a good church service, or conference. Those things are great while you are there or for a week or so afterwards.  What I am talking about is sustainable. Every day is new and exciting without the need to be “pumped up”. It is organic.

I do not advocate any of you, selling your home, quitting your job and moving (although if you do, Tennessee is an amazing place) but I do want to encourage you to follow your hearts and pursue your dreams. I personally believe that God created each person with an adventure spirit and by tapping into it and stepping out of your comfort zone you can feel more fulfilled than you ever thought possible. No, adventure is not “safe” and you can’t set your watch by it, but it will be good for you. You will never have enough time, money or talent to do it, you just need to do it.

“There is little faith involved in setting out on a journey where the destination is certain and every step in between has been mapped in detail. Bravery, trust, is about leaving camp in the dark, when we do not know the route ahead and cannot be certain we will ever return.”

― Bear Grylls, A Survival Guide for Life
Leave a Reply

