Things Aren’t As Bad As You Think

Things Aren't Always As They Seem

We have been sustained by God alone for nearly 16 months now. When I say “God alone”, I mean that we do not make our needs known to anyone, except God, and rely on God to provide. Whether it be through people or provision “mysteriously” appearing in our wallets, the mail, the ground, God is in charge of it. We do not receive government assistance or solicit outside support. A family of 6 can not logically survive in this world without having a “real” job or government assistance, yet we have done it. How you ask? God provides. Jenny has faithfully documented each time this has occurred, but I wanted to share one example to illustrate what we are talking about.

This past weekend someone felt directed to give us $155. This was enough to cover two of our bills and leave us with $9. The kids will be on spring break next week and we planned to go to Illinois and visit family for the week. We were faced with a conundrum: Pay both bills and be unable to go to Illinois or pay only part of the bills and go to Illinois. Jenny and I debated about this for quite a while and neither of us felt peace about partial payments or missing a spring break visit. Finally, we decided to let the issue rest and decide later.

We went on about our day and I remembered a conversation I had over the weekend with Max (11 years old). We were preparing for bed and he said, “I think I know what God wants us to do”. I said, “What is that?” He said, “God always provides just enough for each day, so I think we should just pay or buy whatever we need each day and trust him to refill it the next day, instead of worrying about what comes next.”. That sounded good at the time and I congratulated him on his demonstration of faith. We discussed how it was Biblical (Matthew 6:34), but it is difficult to live that way, even though the Bible instructs us to.

Reflecting on the conversation, in light of our bill/Spring break conundrum, I realized that yet another portion of scripture needed to be proven true for our family. Did we trust God enough to “give us this day our daily bread” or were we still trusting in our own ability to plan? I discussed this with Jenny and together we agreed to pay both of the bills, in full, and trust God to “refill it” as Max said. We paid the bills and within hours someone contacted us and said, “I feel like I am supposed to give this to you.” and handed us $100. So, God did “refill it” and we go on to live another faith filled day.

I share this to encourage you about our situation. We are not as bad off as you might think. The God of the Bible is with us and he provides, just in time, every time. This is just one example. There are many, many others. As I have mentioned before, we could simply stop listening to the still small voice and trust in our own abilities once again, but no one in my family would be satisfied with that. Our adventure allows us to put our faith into action and see our children have faith that can not be generated via a church service, weekend conference or retreat. God is in the process of “healing our faithlessness” as he promised in the book of Hosea 14:3-4: “Assyria cannot save us, nor can our warhorses. Never again will we say to the idols we have made, ‘You are our gods.’ No, in you alone do the orphans find mercy.” The Lord says, “Then I will heal you of your faithlessness; my love will know no bounds, for my anger will be gone forever.

One thought on “Things Aren’t As Bad As You Think”

Leave a Reply

