New Things

  

Have you ever had that awful experience when you’re in the middle of a perfectly good sleep and all of a sudden you’re no longer comfortable so you grumble around and wiggle and try to find that perfect spot again but you can’t because everywhere else is cold from lack of body heat and there’s a drool spot on your pillow that you were blissfully oblivious to before but now you keep plopping your face in it? I REALLY don’t like that. I love my sleep. Like, a lot. I also love that I made a completely awesome run on first sentence. Squirrel! Anything that interupts that beloved sleep time is subject to wrath. Unless God interrupts it. That kinda startles you out of your stupor and drool puddle and you can’t even be mad because you’re so confused as to 1: Why he’d talk to you at all and 2: Why he’d do it while you’re sleeping! There is not any kind of cognitive functioning when I’m sleeping! Why would you try to talk to me when I’m sleeping?? 

Monday night I’m in one of those horrible grasping for comfort moments when I hear, “It’s time to step into a new thing.” I know this isn’t just me thinking because, as I confessed, I don’t think when I’m awakened from my beloved sleep in the middle of the night. I am, however, able to scramble enough brain cells together to think, “Ok, God is probably trying to say something to me.” So I try my best to focus on what else he might have to say, but I can hear children snoring and cars driving by and I think maybe rain and a weird beeping noise somewhere. And did I mention it’s the middle of the night? I’m trying and trying to drown those sounds out but when that’s accomplished I fall asleep instead of learning or hearing anything else. I did have dreams that had to do with the phrase and remember thinking to myself, “I need to remember these.” but I don’t remember them. Of course. 

When I wake up Tuesday morning, and have cognitive powers again, I start thinking about what I heard. Right away I think of Isaiah 43:18-19, “Remember not the former things, nor consider the things of old. Behold, I am doing a new thing; now it springs forth, do you not perceive it? I will make a way in the wilderness and rivers in the desert.”

Later that morning we’re sitting at the library and I’m reading a historical fiction action adventure/love story. Don’t make fun of me. One of the characters is in a dilema and sits down to read their Bible and asks God to help them make sense of the situation. The verse they read is Isaiah 42:8-9, “I am the Lord; that is my name; my glory I give to no other, nor my praise to carved Idols. Behold, the former things have come to pass, and new things I now declare; before they spring forth I tell you of them.” 

This “new things” theme is brought to my attention in multiple ways and I still don’t know what to make of it. Oh, there are plenty of places I can think to go with it. Maybe God will open doors for the dreams and visions we’ve had to come to life! Maybe we’ll have a house again! Maybe we can finally stop living out of our storage unit! Maybe, mabye, maybe. But, truthfully, I don’t know. Maybe it’s a new thing in our spirits. Maybe it’s a new thing in our world. Maybe it’s a new thing in our economy. 

And then I thought, maybe it’s a new thing for someone else. I thought to share it on Facebook, but this blog reaches far more people and I want this word to bless or work in the hearts of as many people as it can reach. God delights in creating new things and making new stories. The only time we’re to think on “former things” is to see where God has brought us from and thank him for his grace and mercy, not to look back and wallow in shame or to see how far we’ve come and be filled with pride. God wants to do new things in us and through us everyday. Maybe it is something new in our social structures, maybe it is something new in our physical lives, maybe it is something new in our spirits. If this word resonated in your heart I pray you will accept it and allow God to work in your life. If it made you think of someone else that could be blessed by it I hope you will share it with them to encourage them. It’s such a simple phrase and thought but I have found that more often than not that’s how God works.   

2 thoughts on “New Things”

  1. Aaron & Jenny,

    I always love reading your posts. Sometimes I don’t get a chance to read them right away so I leave it open in my browser button on my cell phone for a later moment. Today, was my opportunity. I truly admire what you’re doing and want to encourage you to keep it up. Your ability to financially trust that God will provide is unique and awesome! Praying that God will continue to use your family in an awesome way. God bless you all!

    1. Thank you so very much for your kind words Naomi. Encouragement is always welcome on this crazy journey of faith. Thank you for following our story with your spirit and not your eyes. Blessings to you and your family!

Leave a Reply

