Curiouser and Curiouser

curiouser and curiouser

I never thought that I would be a creature of habit or routine, but here I am totally loving being back in a routine. Yikes! What is happening to me? I suppose it was bound to happen. A hard core OCD planner, manager, leader married a fly by the seat of your pants, chasing all things shiny, nut job. Aaron has definitely helped in balancing me out. I love a good plan, and I will even go so far as to write that plan out, but I’m also totally cool with that plan being changed and something else happening in its place (My life, anyone? Haha!). I’m not sure how I have helped Aaron. He already had a crazy nut streak that rivals mine so I have no influence there. I don’t think chasing shiny things is necessarily a coveted character trait…hmmmm, how have I helped him?… Ugh, did I really marry someone perfect? Yes. Yes, I did…Yay, me!! Hehe!

We had an amazing summer of visiting family and friends, and being completely spoiled by so many people. You all know who you are and we thank you from the bottom of our hearts!! You are all uber fabulous! We were all really excited to be back in beautiful, sunny Tennessee after being gone for 2 months, until we were back for a couple of days and realized we were back to no routine. All of us started going crazy. Even the kiddos. Especially the kiddos. We were having to give a play by play nearly every hour of every day just so they could have some kind of plan in their heads. I’m sure any of you with children can imagine how thrilling that was for me and Aaron. Please note: I have a heavy accent that I try to disguise, but can be heard every now and then. My family hails from an ancient Sarcastic Clan. That being said, there was NO thrill. None. Usually our response to these wonderful hourly questions was, “Do you remember what I said an hour ago? Yes? Hmmm, well, it’s still the same answer.” or “I’m just going to record my answer and play it for you because it still hasn’t changed since the last time you asked.” Dear parents of toddlers, the never ending barage of questions does not, I repeat, does not end with the toddler years. I’m so sorry. Now that school has started they know how at least part of their day will be spent, and we are free from the question barage until about 2:30. That is when the 2 high schoolers get out for the day. The moment they get in the van one of them will say, “What are we doing tonight?” and I don’t answer because I have earplugs in my ears. I’m kidding. I just now thought of doing that. But, it is a fantastic idea.

If you are like me, you are sitting there thinking, “These people have really high maintenance, nosy, whiny children.” and you would be right, because ALL children are high maintenance, nosy, whiners. Especially adult children, they are the worst. What I never understood, because I was too busy flying and chasing shiny things, is that Americans love the safety of a plan or a routine. (I say Americans because I live in America and this is all I know. I don’t want to lump the entire human race into this when I have no clue what the day to day lives are like in other countries.) Even if you don’t follow a plan exactly you love that it is there. Some of us love a plan because we have a tiny little rebelious streak and we like to break free from the plan, or at least throw a kink in it somewhere. You know, show that we have freedom to do what we like. Some love a plan because they have too many other worries on their mind and if there is a plan in place it is one less thing to have to think about.

When you have gotten used to a plan, even a bendable one, it is rather unnerving to wake up every day and have no clue what you are going to do or where you are going to go for that day. That is what our life has been like since the beginning of 2015. School has been the only routine we have. Everyday the kids get out of school and have no clue what we are going to do for the rest of the evening. I am ready to explain this better, but before I can do that we have to rewind our story. Again. As I am sure most of you have read, we made an agreement with God that we would tell our whole story on this blog. We have done pretty good with that, but we haven’t done it compeletly. There are things that have happened that we haven’t shared out of fear or maybe even pride. We have appeased ourselves by sharing our “God thoughts” with you. The problem with that is that you don’t really understand why these God thoughts mean so much to us because you don’t know all of what is going on behind the scenes. These God thoughts aren’t speaking to you with the power they could be because you don’t know the circumstances that promted them. So many of you have been so wonderful and supportive of us through prayer, encouragement or finances, but we have realized that there is so much more for you to know about us. So many things have happened that have shaped who we’ve become. In order for you to really know us, celebrate our journey with us, or to solidify the thought that we are completely, totally insane, which we are, you need to know the truth…the whole truth, nothing but the truth. (Sorry, there was no way I could resist doing that.)

The next few blog posts will be a series. We have no idea how many parts of this series there will be. We only know that it would be way too long to try and catch you up all at one time. We are going to go back to the begining of the year and share all of the good, the bad and the ugly. Aaron wrote a blog post, near the beginning of our journey, entitled “No More PR”. It was about not being a PR person for God anymore. We have realized that that’s exactly what we’ve been doing just in a different way. We have been trying to be ok with what has gone on in our life, and have tried to give the impression that even though we don’t understand, everything is peachy and we joyfully wait for the next step of the journey. That is partly true, but there is another more real and honest part where nearly every day we question our sanity and ability to hear God’s voice. I pray that as we let all of our “skeletons out of the closet” that there will be pieces of us you can identify with and be encouraged that someone else is traveling that road with you. If there are pieces of us that challenge you, I pray that you will take time to ask God why you feel that and what he wants you to do with it. And, if there are pieces of us that make you straight up mad, well, pray for us. We are doing the best we can to hear from God and do what he says. We are not living any of our story out of malice or to prove ourselves right to anyone. We are simply trying to be right with God. We are going to get things wrong because we are human and just like a little kid we can take things and run with them, but it is never done to shame or condemn anyone. Our most earnest, heartfelt, continual prayer is that God will use our story to show his amazing power and mercy. I hope our story will help others see that he is better than we have ever imagined.

Author: Jen Sanders

I'm the wife of a gorgeous hunk of man named Aaron and momma of 4 beautiful offspring that occasionally make me want to pull my hair out. My life goal is to be like Jesus.

Leave a Reply

