Sanders Family Unabridged Part 10 (April 2015)

FullSizeRender (3)

Tuesday April 7, 2015

My mommy came to visit!! This was her first visit and we had a blast!! I got to be Tour Guide Barbie for the week and showed her all the places that are part of our everyday life, Civil War sites, downtown Nashville and, of course, multiple restaurants. You can’t come south and not eat every 20 minutes. There are too many yummy places your tummy needs to discover. She took me to my first Grand Ole Opry show and we absolutely loved it! I had a near fan girl melt down during the show. Little known fact about me; I love Steven Tyler. I have no idea why. Maybe because he’s so quirky and unique? I don’t know, but all of a sudden there he was on stage. What??!! I guess one of the sayings at the Opry is “you never know who you’ll see” (or something like that) and he wasn’t on the schedule, it was a surprise visit. I couldn’t function normally for about 30 seconds. I was trying desperately to get my camera to work, but my hands were fluttering about like they were having spasms. I was bouncing in my seat, my mouth was hanging open and my eyes were probably the size of Frisbees. My mother was laughing hysterically because this is not a normal reaction for me. My normal self would be, “Oh, there’s the President. Oh, there’s Barbra Streisand. Oh, there’s Chris Hemsworth.” It definitely made the Opry a memorable experience. I may or may not have camped out there for the next few weeks. šŸ˜‰ Oh, and I never did get a good picture. My momma had to get it for me. Her hands weren’t spastic.

The kiddos were in school the whole week she was visiting, so they only got to spend time with her in the evenings. We did our best to bore them with museums and walking tours, on the weekend, but they loved it. They especially loved the Dukes of Hazard museum aka “Cooters”. Bonus points for us for raising little geekers! We got a hotel room a couple of doors down from from her for those two days so we didn’t waste any of our fun time. The kiddos were thrilled because they got to be in beds. They’ve either been in the van or on pallets at our friends’ house for the past few months so beds are very exciting. It’s in moments like this that you realize you really do need to be thankful for the little things.

Our van battery had been giving us trouble, but we did not have the extra funds to get a new one. We got an email from our Paypal account stating that someone had sent us $100 (yay!!), so we went right to the store to get a battery. Mom was still in town and said she wanted to buy it for us. (Double yay!!) It worked out wonderfully because on Monday when Aaron brought the kiddos to school he noticed we had a flat tire. Our angel bus driver friend had noticed as well and drove over to the local tire shop right as Aaron was getting there. He knew all the guys working there and introduced Aaron to all of them and stuck around to make sure they gave him a good deal. It ended up being $85. Thank you to everyone that has listened to God on our behalf!! You never know when what you have to give to people is exactly what they need. Whether it be money, time or words of encouragement.

Thursday April 9, 2015

We received a message from someone sending encouragement and assurance that we were in their prayers. They also asked what our needs were at that moment. They were planning to send us money, and wanted to know what bills were needing to be paid so they could send the right amount. We gave them our list of bills and how much they were. They sent us more than the amount for the bills, so we had some left over for gas in the van, groceries and even to send Jack to his 8th grade formal.

As we read “100 Days in the Secret Place” we feel God teaching and leading us to lay everything down, even the desire for the supernatural, and seek him above all of it. We need to so completely die to ourselves that we do anything and everything for Him, only, without hopes of what it might produce. So often we seek him with the intent of hearing from him for the answer to a challenging problem, we need a miracle, we need the right words to speak to someone, or because we want to see more of the supernatural. All of those are certainly part of a walk with God, but what has happened to seeking him simply because he’s worthy of all of our devotion even without all of those other things? Do we really understand how awesome he is, how powerful and terrifying he is and yet he has this amazing, incomprehensible love for us? If we really realized it, we wouldn’t have a problem leaving everything behind and serving him just because of who he is. That love alone is worth everything in this world and the universe and whatever else we could grab to throw in the pile. If we found another human being that loved us that intensely, we wouldn’t have a problem leaving everything so that we could live in that love. Somehow that level of devotion escapes us because the intense, life changing, unfailing, healing, never ending love that we long for comes from an invisible God.

Author: Jen Sanders

I'm the wife of a gorgeous hunk of man named Aaron and momma of 4 beautiful offspring that occasionally make me want to pull my hair out. My life goal is to be like Jesus.

Leave a Reply

