Sanders Family Unabridged Part 12 (April 2015 Cont)

FullSizeRender (4)

Wednesday April 22, 2015

We have enough food for the rest of the week and about 1/2 of a tank of gas. God so graciously reminded us, again, last week that he knows right where we are and what we need and he is faithful to provide. Hopefully, that means we won’t get worked up again this weekend! Honestly, we will probably do better this week regardless because it’s Aaron’s birthday and he will be getting birthday money in the mail. So pathetic, but true! Haha!

We decided that when school gets out for the year, we will take the kiddos up to Aaron’s parents for their yearly Granny and Pop vacation and we will come back here and clean out the 2 storage units. We’ll take pictures of everything and post it on Craigslist and just clean everything out. This is a huge step for me because I have been hanging onto all my stuff so tightly. Even though I can’t do anything with it, I haven’t wanted to let it go. Now I feel good about it. There’s no sense in spending money on storing things that we can’t use and have no idea when we will be able to use them again. As with everything, we have made this plan and are just leaving it in the Lord’s hands. He can change it if it needs to be changed.

Monday April 27, 2015

We had a wonderful weekend for Aaron’s birthday!! Our friends had asked us if we could take our washer and dryer out of their garage, because they were going to be putting their house on the market and needed to clean everything out. Well, this was much different than when we were trying to sell the things to save our hineys. We put them on a local Facebook garage sale site and the crazy things sold in about 20 minutes. The lady came and got them Saturday morning, so we were able to go out for Aaron’s birthday. We went to the KFC buffet; buffets are always our friend because of our hungry teenagers, who happen to have no taste buds only sensors for when they are hungry or full. We also went to a local theater that plays movies at a discount, because they have already been released on DVD. All six of us can see a movie and get popcorn and soda for $25. Three cheers for fun, low budget outings!!! Between the money from the washer and dryer and Aaron’s birthday money, we will have more than enough to make it through the week with no melt downs.

Thursday April 30, 2015

Ok, I lied about making it through the week with no melt downs. I completely melted into a puddle on the floor of the van. We have glimpses of what God wants us to do and visions of how we will serve God and people, but all of it seems totally impossible. I don’t know if I have the strength to make it through this training process and make it to the vision. I am so overwhelmed with the thought of this indefinite stay in the van, of having to go to our storage unit to pick out clothes, go to the rec center to exercise, swim, shower and then settle in for the night, in the van. Sleeping in the clothes that we’ll be wearing the next day, and hopefully no one needs to use the bathroom in the middle of the night because that means either a long walk across a parking lot or waking Aaron up to drive to the front of whatever store we happen to be parked by. In addition to that, the storage unit is only accessible from 7-9 so if we’ve forgotten anything we’re stuck waiting to do something about it until it opens again. I didn’t try to come up with any solutions to “get us out of this”, I’m just really tired of this “training”.

I decided that I am not going to wallow in my frustrations, so I went online and created a Sanders Family Facebook page and YouTube channel. Haha! Yes, I admit I have really strange therapy solutions. I want people to be able to see the crazy, fun, real life family side of us in addition to this crazy, nonsensical, following God side.

Author: Jen Sanders

I'm the wife of a gorgeous hunk of man named Aaron and momma of 4 beautiful offspring that occasionally make me want to pull my hair out. My life goal is to be like Jesus.

Leave a Reply

