Ready, Set, Summer!

13217506_10209777588822567_7194162215941208712_o

Here we are at the end of another school year. We made it! Whoop whoop! The kiddos had a fantastic year socially and academically…with the exception of a few missed assignments due to sheer laziness. But we won’t dwell on those. If you think my blog posts are long, you should hear my lectures. Ask the kiddos about it and you’ll get a lovely exaggerated reenactment of my voice and facial expressions. How did they get so mean and sassy? I can only hope they are all parents some day and I can mock them in return. Anyway…they closed the year out with a bang; attending awards ceremonies, receiving awards, certificates, letters, lots of hugs and words of encouragement for their futures. Lots of running to and fro, with a little bit of clueless wondering mixed in, means Aaron and I couldn’t focus our brains enough to form a single coherent sentence, let alone an entire blog post. But, here we are now with our brains functioning as well as any parent’s of four offspring could.

All that being said, I have about five different post ideas running through my head and I know Aaron has at least that many. Be prepared!! (Did anyone read that to the tune of Scar’s song from Lion King? I totally sang it in my head as I typed it.) I have a one year devotional on the Bible app on my phone that I’m following and I’ve almost given up on it half a dozen times. Each time I’ve thought, “I’ll read one more to give it another chance.” and each of those times, BAM!, it is something that speaks directly to a current thought or conversation that has been had. This time it was a conglomeration of some of the blog posts that have been in my head. For a quicker read than what I normally would have for you, I decided to share part of it. No worries, my loquacious self will still write all the ideas I have in my head later. Consider this a teaser trailer:

Put Your Reputation on the Line

by Gloria Copeland

God is a good God. In most circles, that’s still shocking news. Do you remember what Jesus told the mad man from Gadara? After He cast out the demons that had possessed him, Mark 5:19 says Jesus told him to tell his friends the great things the Lord had done for him.

Jesus was concerned about God’s reputation. He wanted it corrected. Everywhere He went he taught people that God was not what they had thought He was. he taught them that God is a good God. And that’s the job He gave us when He left the earth. (Mark 16:15)

Mark 5:25-34 tells of a woman with an issue of blood, who put her reputation on the line. It was against the Jewish Law for a woman with an issue of blood to be seen in public. But she risked public humiliation, even arrest, and fought her way through the crowd to touch the hem of Jesus’ garment.

Why? Because she was more interested in Jesus’ reputation than her own. She knew she couldn’t get healed by staying at home doing what the religious community of her day said she should do. To receive her healing, she had to hang on to Jesus’ reputation-and let go of hers. She wanted healing so desperately and believed in Jesus’ goodness so fully that she was willing to risk it all.

That’s how you have to be if you’re going to see God work miracles in your life. You have to become so confident about how good He is that you’ll dare to lay everything on the line. Choose His reputation over yours every time.

“Go home to your friends and tell them how much the Lord has done for you, and how he has had mercy on you.” Mark 5:19

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Now you get to have fun trying to decipher what phrases in there are things I’ve been thinking about. Hehehe.

Author: Jen Sanders

I'm the wife of a gorgeous hunk of man named Aaron and momma of 4 beautiful offspring that occasionally make me want to pull my hair out. My life goal is to be like Jesus.

Leave a Reply

